Geelong Racecourse

The Geelong Racecourse is situated in the suburb of Breakwater, Victoria.

Overall, the track holds around 35 meetings per year and is the only country Melbourne track that runs races during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The Geelong Cup is a key feature at this Racecourse as it's used as a qualifier for the Melbourne Cup.

As such, the winner of the event gains automatic entry into the Melbourne Cup.

List of Important Races at Geelong Racecourse

  • Geelong Cup

Geelong Racecourse Track Details

This track consists of two different surfaces - synthetic and turf.

The synthetic track is smaller in length at 1858 metres and it's very useful during any wet weather.

Meanwhile, the turf track is used for longer racing and is an oval shape.

Geelong Racecourse History

Before the current Geelong Racecourse was formed in 1908, racing in Geelong can be traced back until 1841.

The suburb of Corio held three races on May 1, 1841. 25 years later, the Geelong Racing Club was created and they held the first Geelong Cup in 1872.

For ease of access to the track, a railway line was installed in 1878. In 1907, the GRC moved Geelong races to the current location on Breakwater Road and the first meeting took place in March, 1908.

Over the years, the track has undergone many upgrades and the addition of a third grandstand as crowds continue to rise, especially for the Cup.

Geelong Racecourse Map

This is not an official Geelong Racecourse website. The information on this page is solely the view and opinion of the author and should not be considered an official source of Geelong Racecourse information.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information