2013 Winterbottom Stakes December 04, 2013 by Marc Jerbs

On Saturday, the Western Australian Turf Club will host the annual Winterbottom Stakes at the Ascot Racecourse in Ascot, Western Australia.

The Winterbottom Stakes is a Group 1 race for three year olds and over thoroughbred horses.

The race will cover a distance of 1200 metres and the winner will earn A$500,000 prize money.

A total of 13 horses will compete in the Winterbottom Stakes.

Last year's winner Barakey will compete again.

Barakey has won 12 of his last 13 starts and his lone defeat was in the Newmarket Handicap wherein he got an 11th place finish.

Barakey's recent win was in the Group 3 Prince if Wales Stakes held at Ascot Racecourse last October 26.

Manikato Stakes and VRC Sprint Classic winner Buffering will also participate in the race.

The race handicappers have installed Buffering as the favorite to win the Winterbottom Stakes.

Barakey, Moment of Change and Spirit of Boom could challenge Buffering during the race.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information