2015 Grand Slam Tennis: Australian Open
January 14, 2015 by Marc Jerbs

On Monday up to February 1, the Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia will host the first Grand Slam tennis tournament of the year, the Australian Open. This year's Australian Open will offer a record prizemoney of A$36.3 million.

The men and women's singles competition will have a total of 256 players from all over the world. The field will compose of direct entries based from rankings, qualifiers and wildcards.

World No. 1's Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams were installed as the top seeds in their respective draws. Four-time Australian Open winner Djokovic will try to bounce back from a quarterfinal exit against last year's champion Stanislas Wawrinka.

Five-time winner Serena Williams would want to end his five-year drought in the Australian Open. She last won the tournament in 2010. 2013 winner Li Na will not be able to defend her title as she tearfully retired last September due to persistent knee injuries.

The sportsbook handicappers have installed both Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams as the favorites to win another Australian Open in their respective single's event.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information