2016 ATP / WTA Grand Slam: Australian Open
January 21, 2015 by Marc Jerbs

From January 18 up to 31, the plexicushion tennis courts of Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia will host the 104th Australian Open. The Australian Open is the first Grand Slam event this season co-sanctioned by the ATP and WTA.

Defending champions and top seed Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams will compete and defend their titles at their respective singles' event. This year's total prize money is the highest in Australian Open history at A$44,000,000.

The winner in both singles' event will each receive A$3.8 million. The tennis handicappers have installed Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams as the favorites to repeat as Australian Open champions.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information