Cox Plate

The Cox Plate is a 2040 metre race that takes place at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, Australia. In racing circles, this race is considered to be the weight for age championship for Australiasia.

It's a Group 1 race and is worth a total of $5,000,000.00 in prize money. The race is held in late October, just before the Melbourne Cup every year.

The Cox Plate consists of three-year-old horses and older from locally produced horses to International runners. The 2019 race will be held on Saturday, October 26th.

Winx is the current defending champion and has dominated this race recently with four straight victories since 2015. She also beat the track record in 2016 and will go down as one of the greatest horses in history when she retires.

Some former champions of Racing that have won the Cox Plate include Phar Lap in the 1930s, Rising Fast (NZ) and Melbourne Cup legend Makybe Diva.

Cox Plate History / Timeline

Originally, the Cox Plate was named after William Samuel Cox who is the founder of the Mooney Valley Racing Club. The first race of the Cox Plate was run back in 1922 and won by Violencello.

It started as a race over ten furlongs and in 1972, it was converted to 2000m instead. A few years later, it was changed to the current length of 2040m.

In 1979, the event was officially classified as a Group 1 race and Dulcify was the first winner under the new category.

Another great historical fact about this race is that it joins a number of prestigious races around the Globe in the World Series since 1999. The World Series includes such races as the Japan Cup, Queen Elizabeth Diamond Stakes at Ascot and the Breeders Cup Classic in North America.

Cox Plate Trivia

  • The first Cox Plate was run in 1922 and won by Violencello.
  • Winx holds the record for most consecutive wins (4) and will aim for an impressive 5th straight win in 2019.

Cox Plate Records

  • Largest Priced Winners: In 1939 and 1946, a runner won this race at 50/1 odds.
  • Largest Winning Margin: In 2016, Winx beat the winning margin by a length with a dominant performance. The previous record holders were Dulcify and Sunline.
  • Most Successful Trainer: TJ Smith has won this race on seven occasions since 1957. His latest win was back in 1984 with Red Anchor.
  • Most Successful Jockey: Darby Munro currently holds the record with 5 victories from 1933 until 1952.
  • Shortest Priced Winner: Phar Lap lived up to the hype in 1931, winning at $1.07 odds.
  • Time Record: Set by Winx in 2016 at a time of 2:02.94 (at the current track). Prior to the current track, Better Lossen Up was the record holder with a time of 2:01.05 in 1990.

Betting on the Cox Plate

Markets for the Cox Plate generally appear in Winter before the event with future betting markets on the upcoming race. Some of the bet types that will be available include the basics of win bet, each way bet or place betting.

While in the exotic range, you'll find options for quinella, trifecta, first four and exacta. Depending on the bookmaker, there will also be opportunities to make even more money with enticing promotions just for the Cox Plate.

At the moment, it's a tough ask betting against Winx because of her dominance over the years. She's aiming for a 5th straight Cox Plate victory and will be short odds with the bookies to do so.

So while Winx is running this race, head to head betting is pretty much out of the question if you're not betting with large amounts.

However, this opens up a good opportunity to pick fixed exotics - such as the trifecta. The first four bet is still a tough ask but the reward is always worth the risk as the odds will return a huge pay if successful.

Cox Plate Tips

  • Focus on three and four-year-old horses as top selections.
  • Check the form guides and look for runners that are coming into the race with at least a top-three finish.
  • Look at previous history over the distance and whether they've run at the Cox Plate before.
  • The inside barriers are usually preferred as the start is located at the home straight, which is more beneficial for these runners.

Cox Plate Winners

Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2017 Winx $1.15 Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
2016 Winx $1.8F Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
2015 Winx $4.6F Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
2014 Adelaide $8 Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien
2013 Shamus Award $21 Chad Schofield Danny O'Brien
2012 Ocean Park $6 Glen Boss Gary Hennessy
2011 Pinker Pinker $26 Craig Williams Greg Eurell
2010 So You Think $1.5 Steven Arnold Bart Cummings
2009 So You Think $14 Glen Boss Bart Cummings
2008 Maldivian $11 Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh
2007 El Segundo $7 Luke Nolen Colin Little

Popular Group 1 Horse Races

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information