Newmarket Handicap

The Newmarket Handicap is a 1200m Group 1 race and the total prize money on offer is $1,250,000. It has been on the Racing calendar since 1874. This race occurs at Flemington Racecourse and is a part of the Autumn Racing Carnival.

It's an open handicap race with the only restriction on maiden horses. The 2019 race will be at Flemington Racecourse on Saturday, 9th March.

The current champion from 2018 is Redkirk Warrior and he'll be aiming for a third victory in a row at this event. A third straight win would see Redkirk Warrior break the record for most consecutive victories.

He joins only four other horses that have won back to back events, which includes: Aspen (1880-1881), Gothic (1927-2918), Correct (1960, 1961) and Razor Sharp (1982-1983).

Newmarket Handicap History / Timeline

Originally, the Newmarket Handicap was created as a short and interesting race for the Club's program during Autumn. Since 1874, it has now become one of Australia's premier sprint races.

This race has been won by former champions, such as Black Caviar in 2011 and Ajax in 1938. In 2007, the race was moved from Flemington due to track work and it was held at Caulfield Racecourse. Other than 2007, this event has always taken place at Flemington Racecourse.

It's also never changed distance in history as a 1200m sprint race. From 1874 until 1979, the event was classed as a Principal Race and gained Group 1 status in 1979.

Newmarket Handicap Trivia

  • This race and the Melbourne Cup are the only races at Flemington that allow 24 runners.
  • In the history of this race, five horses have won in consecutive years. They are: Aspen, Gothic, Correct, Razor Sharp and Redkirk Warrior.

Newmarket Handicap Records

  • Most Successful Jockey: Damien Oliver has ridden three victories in his career in 1992, 2001 and 2005.
  • Most Successful Trainer: Bart Cummings holds the trainer record with 8 victories, spanning from 1972 until 1991.
  • Time Record: Black Caviar has the time record at 1:07:36 in 2011.

Betting on the Newmarket Handicap

In general, this race has been dominated by three-year-old horses with a 50% record from 2004 until 2015. So depending on the field, it can be more beneficial to look for a younger horse at the moment.

The nominations for this race start around a month before the start so this gives punters' plenty of time to find a winning bet. It also opens up an opportunity to bet on future markets at various Australian bookmakers. Some of the best lead-up races to watch are the Black Caviar Lightning Stakes and Oakleigh Plate.

The Black Caviar Lightning Stakes takes place two weeks prior to this event and is run over 1000m at Flemington. The Oakleigh Plate follows the week after at Caulfield over 1100m.

Since 2008, 9 of 11 winners of this race have raced in either event as a lead-up. So looking at the form from these two races can help you find a winner for the Newmarket Handicap.

As this is a sprint race, the barrier draw doesn't give a certain runner an advantage compared to a longer distance race. From 2012 until 2015, three of the four winners came from an outside barrier.

In terms of bet types, this event offers the basics of betting on the races, such as a fixed win bet or an exotic trifecta.

The odds available will depend on the bookmaker. Also, betting promotions can be available for this event, such as getting money back if your selection finishes second or third.

Newmarket Handicap Tips

  • Favourites have a great record at this event with 6 of 13 wins since 2007.
  • The barrier draw doesn't give advantages to certain runners.
  • Watch the key lead-up sprint races a few weeks before the event
  • Look for runners that have a decent record at this distance over their career
  • With 24 horses lining up in this race, a head to head bet is pretty tough to pick a winner. So an exotic bet (trifecta or quinella) would be more recommended.

Newmarket Handicap Winners

Year Winner
2018 Redkirk Warrior
2017 Redkirk Warrior
2016 The Quarterback
2015 Brazen Beau
2014 Lankan Rupee
2013 Shamexpress
2012 Hay List
2011 Black Caviar
2010 Wanted
2009 Scenic Blast
2008 Weekend Hussler

Popular Group 1 Horse Races

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information