Caulfield Racecourse

One of the most well-known Racecourses in Australia is the Caulfield Racecourse, located in the vicinity of the Melbourne CBD.

The Caulfield Cup is a key feature race at this Racecourse, which is staged during the Spring Racing Carnival.

List of Important Races at Caulfield Racecourse

At the moment, Caulfield Racecourse hosts a total of 12 Group 1 races, mainly highlighted by the Caulfield Cup in October.

  • Group 1 - Caulfield Cup (2400m)
  • Group 1 - Caulfield Guineas (1600m)
  • Group 1 - Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m)
  • Group 1 - C F Orr Stakes (1400m)
  • Group 1 - Oakleigh Plate (1100m)
  • Group 1 - Underwood Stakes (1800m)
  • Group 1 - Futurity Stakes (1400m)

Caulfield Racecourse Track Details

The track at Caulfield is designed with a triangularly shaped layout and all races are directed in an anti-clockwise direction.

It's known among Racing circles as a track that will test a runners stamina and speed.

Caulfield Racecourse History

Originally opened in 1859, the Caulfield Racecourse is one of the longest running courses in Australia.

In 1876, the first meeting was held at this course by the Melbourne Racing Club.

Just 3 years later, the Caulfield Cup was formed and has been a stable in the Australian Racing Calendar ever since. After the 1995 Caulfield Cup, the course was closed for major reconstruction of the track and later opened in April, 1996.

Nine years later, the course turf was re-laid after the Spring Carnival.

Caulfield Racecourse Map

This is not an official Caulfield Racecourse website. The information on this page is solely the view and opinion of the author and should not be considered an official source of Caulfield Racecourse information.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information