Ladbrokes Park

Ladbrokes Park, or otherwise known as Sandown Racecourse, is located within 25 kilometres of Melbourne, Victoria. It's one of the newer Racecourses in Australia as it was first opened in 1965.

The track is managed by the Melbourne Racing Club.

Ladbrokes Park is mainly known for closing the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival with the Sandown Carnival in November.

List of Important Races at Ladbrokes Park

  • Sandown Guineas
  • Zipping Classic

Ladbrokes Park Track Details

A very unique part about this Racecourse is the fact that the Sandown Raceway takes place on the outside of the track!

The other interesting fact about this course is it features two turf tracks.

The Sandown Hillside is the first track and is run on the outer home turn.

Meanwhile, the Sandown Lakeside comes with a full 45 metres wide straight and the circumference is 2087 metres.

This allows races of over 4000+ metres.

Ladbrokes Park History

In June 1965, the Ladbrokes Park was born in front of a healthy 52,000 crowd that was eager to visit the newly formed track.

The course underwent major realignment in 2001 as the Melbourne Racing Club aimed to widen the home turn and main home straight.

In turn, this created a second track and the number of meetings jumped from 32 to 41 per year.

It has undergone a few name changes in its history.

It was named the Sportingbet Park in 2008 then changed to the William Hill Park in 2015.

Then from 2016 onwards, it's been known as the Ladbrokes Park.

Ladbrokes Park Map

This is not an official Ladbrokes Park website. The information on this page is solely the view and opinion of the author and should not be considered an official source of Ladbrokes Park information.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information