Caulfield Guineas

The Caulfield Guineas is a Racing event for three-year-old runners in the Group 1 category over 1600 metres. The race is held at Caulfield annually during the Spring Racing Carnival in Melbourne, Victoria.

It's run before the Caulfield Cup and kicks off the Carnival in style with a usually exciting finish. In terms of prize money, this race is worth A$2 million among the starting runners. The 2019 race will be held on Saturday, 12th October at Caulfield Racecourse.

Looking back to 2018, The Autumn Sun stormed down the straight and took home the event for the year. It followed an amazing run by Mighty Boss in 2017 who has placed at $101 odds to win before the race.

This race is known for producing champions of the sport with such examples as Ajax II, Lonhro, Manikato, Tulloch and Weekend Hussler having won this race in their prestigious careers.

Tulloch and Ajax II are both Australian Racing Hall of Fame inductees and both won 14 Group 1 races over their time. Manikato has 12 Group 1 victories and that would be 18 in current times.

Caulfield Guineas History / Timeline

This race has a long history as the first event dates back to 1881. It has been run over the same distance since 1881 as well (1600m). Interestingly, the Caulfield Guineas was raced at Flemington Racecourse during World War 2.

But the event returned to Caulfield after the War ended and continues to be held at Caulfield to this day. In 1979, the race was officially classified as a Group 1 race having been run as a Principal race since 1886.

Caulfield Guineas Trivia

  • Only four horses have won the Caulfield Guineas - Cox Plate double in history: Star Affair, Rajah Sahib, Surround and Red Anchor.
  • A female horse has not won this race in a span of 30+ years.
  • The first barrier has provided the most winners' since 1983 (8).
  • From 2000 onwards, seven runners' that ran in the Prelude went onto win the Caulfield Guineas.

Caulfield Guineas Records

  • Largest Priced Winners: In 2017, Might Boss won this event at the odds of $101
  • Most Successful Jockey: Dating back to 1983, Thomson holds the record with 3 victories in 1983, 1987 and 1988. He's also the first jockey to ride back to back winners (1987-1988). Dye achieved the same feat in 1997 and 1998.
  • Most Successful Trainer: The late Bart Cummings trained three successful winners since 1983. The first was Alfa in 1996. In 2005 and 2006, he achieved back to back victories with God's Own and Wonderful World.
  • Time Record: Since 2000, Helmet holds the time record, finishing in 1:35.3 in the 2011 event.

Betting on the Caulfield Guineas

As this race begins the Spring Racing Carnival, most runners' will have fairly consistent form coming into the event, which should help punters' predict the race.

Key lead-up races include the Caulfield Guineas Prelude, Stutt Stakes and the Stand Fox Stakes. The Prelude is usually held two weeks before this race and the Stakes will be run during early September.

The good part about looking at the Stutt Stakes form is the race is also held over 1600m. So you can get a good idea of how a certain runner fares at this distance.

An interesting stat in recent times is the fact that from 2014 until 2017, all 4 winners of the Guineas raced in the Stand Fox Stakes. With the exception of Mighty Boss in 2017, this race is generally dominated by the top few favourites.

But in saying that, in the last 34 years, only 11 favourites have gone onto win this event. So the mid to short-priced odds are always worth a punt.

Caulfield Guineas Tips

  • Watch the form of runners who raced in the Caulfield Guineas Prelude, Stutt Stakes and Stand Fox Stakes.
  • The inside barrier has a good advantage at this track. Since 1983, the first barrier has won on 8 occasions and the four barrier comes in second with 5 winners.
  • Look for runners that have run the distance previously and how they performed in those races.

Runners / Field / Winners by Year

  • 2018 The Autumn Sun
  • 2017 Mighty Boss
  • 2016 Divine Prophet
  • 2015 Press Statement
  • 2014 Shooting To Win
  • 2013 Long John
  • 2012 All Too Hard
  • 2011 Helmet
  • 2010 Anacheeva
  • 2009 Starspangledbanner
  • 2008 Whobegotyou
  • 2007 Weekend Hussler

Popular Group 1 Horse Races

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information