2011 NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup: Geico 400September 13, 2010 by Marc Jerbs

On Sunday, the NASCAR Sprint Cup series moves to Joilet, Illinois for the Geico 400. Race time is set at 2PM ET at the Chicagoland Speedway.

The Geico 400 will be the first race of the 10-race "Chase for the Sprint Cup", the championship season of NASCAR.

The top 10 drivers and 2 wild cards who qualified in the regular season will be fighting it out to earn as this season's champion. The other drivers who did not qualify will still race and could act as spoilers and stiff challenges for the twelve drivers competing for the Chase.

Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick are the co-leaders for the 1st race of the Chase. The other drivers who qualified are Jeff Gordon, Matt Kenseth, Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson, Kurt Busch, Ryan Newman, Tony Stewart and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin qualified for the Chase by filling out the wildcard slots.

The sportsbook handicappers have installed Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch as the drivers to beat once the 10-race "Chase for the Sprint Cup" commences this Sunday. However, Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon and Kevin Harvick could spoil the one-on-one showdown of Johnson and Busch as the championship race progresses.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information