2012 PGA TOUR:Players ChampionshipMay 09, 2012 by Marc Jerbs

On Thursday, the best golfers from all over the world converge at the TPC Sawgrass for the Players Championship in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. The total purse of the tournament is set at $9.5 million with the winner pocketing a total of $1,710,000.

Defending champion K.J. Choi will tee up in the first round against two previous winners of the tournament, Tim Clark and Sergio Garcia. Clark won this tournament in 2010 while Garcia won it in 2008.

World No. 1 Rory McIlroy will return at TPC Sawgrass after skipping last year's tournament. He will be joined by veterans Phil Mickelson and Steve Stricker when they start their first round tee time at 1:49PM local time.

Former World No. 1 Tiger Woods will play on this tournament. The Players Championship is the event that started the downfall of Tiger Woods from his place at upper echelon of the PGA Tour. From his personal problem up to his recent string of injuries, Woods is determined to erase his previous bad memories by simply contending throughout the tournament.

The sportsbook handicappers have installed Rory McIlroy as the favorite to win the Players Championship. Luke Donald, Lee Westwood and Phil Mickelson are among his stiffest challengers for the title.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information