2017 College Basketball Tournament:The Sweet 16March 21, 2017 by Marc Jerbs

After two rounds in the 2017 College Basketball Tournament, the top college teams who survived the first two rounds of competition will now play in the Sweet 16. The winner on this round will advance in the Elite 8 over the weekend.

Defending champion Villanova as well as second seeds Duke and Louisville are out of the computation.

On Thursday, the opening match for the Sweet 16 round will feature Midwest Region's No. 3 seed Oregon against No. 7 Michigan. Game time is set at 7:09PM ET and Sprint Center in Kansas City, MO will host the game. Right after the 1st match, Midwest Region's No. 1 Kansas will face No. 4 Purdue at 9:39PM ET.

Other Thursday's games will have No. 4 West Virginia against West Region's No. 1 Gonzaga which will start at 7:39PM ET in SAP Center in San Jose California. The next game in this venue will feature West Region's No. 2 Arizona against surprising No. 11 Xavier.

The sportsbook handicappers have installed Michigan, Gonzaga, Kansas and Arizona as the favorites to win their respective Sweet 16 matches on Thursday night.

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information