2022 Triple Crown: The Preakness Stakes May 19, 2022 by Marc Jerbs

On Saturday, Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, MD will host the 2nd jewel of the 2022 Triple Crown, the Preakness Stakes.

It is a Grade 1 race for three-year-old thoroughbreds.

It will cover a total race distance of 1 3/16 miles.

Post time is set 7:01PM EDT.

The Preakness Stakes is usually the proving ground of the Kentucky Derby winner, who has the only shot to win the Triple Crown.

There will be no Triple Crown winner this year as 2022 Kentucky Deby winner Rich Strike will not run in the Preakness Stakes.

Nine horses will run in the Preakness Stakes, three of them have previously run in the Kentucky Derby will six are new and fresh horses that qualified in the second crown jewel race.

Epicenter who was 2nd in the Kentucky Derby will start in Post No. 8.

Joining him is Kentucky Derby 4th place Simplification and 14th place Happy Jack.

The new horses include Kentucky Oaks winner Secret Oath, Creative Minister, Fenwick, Early Voting, Armagnac and Skippylongstocking.

The sportsbook handicappers have installed Epicenter as the horse to beat on Saturday’s Preakness Stakes.

2022 Triple Crown: The Preakness Stakes

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information