2,000 Guineas Stakes

The 2,000 Guineas Stakes is a Group 1 flat horse race in Great Britain which is open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies. It is run on the Rowley Mile at Newmarket over a distance of 1 mile (1,609 meters), and it takes place each year in late April or early May.

The 2,000 Guineas Stakes serves as the opening leg of the English Triple Crown, followed by the Derby and the St Leger Stakes. It is also considered as one of Britain's five Classic races, and at present it is the first to be run in the year.

The 2,000 Guineas was first run on April 18, 1809, and it preceded the introduction of a version for fillies only, the 1,000 Guineas, by five years. Both races were established by the Jockey Club under the direction of Sir Charles Bunbury, who had earlier co-founded the Derby at Epsom. The races were named according to their original prize funds (a guinea amounted to 21 shillings, or £1.05).

By the mid-1860s, the 2,000 Guineas was regarded as one of Britain's most prestigious races for three-year-olds. The five leading events for this age group, characterized by increasing distances as the season progressed, began to be known as "Classics". The concept was later adopted in many other countries.

European variations of the 2,000 Guineas include the Irish 2,000 Guineas, the Mehl-Mülhens-Rennen, the Poule d'Essai des Poulains and the Premio Parioli. Elsewhere, variations include the Australian Guineas and the Satsuki Sho.

The 2,000 Guineas is served by trial races such as the Craven Stakes and the Greenham Stakes, but for some horses it is the first race of the season. The 2,000 Guineas itself can act as a trial for the Derby, and the last horse to win both was Sea the Stars in 2009.

Since 2001, the 2,000 Guineas and the 1,000 Guineas have offered equal prize money. Each had a total prize fund of £350,000 in 2011.

2,000 Guineas Stakes Records

  • Most wins by a jockey - Jem Robinson holds this record at 9 wins when he rode the following horses to the finish line:

    • Flatcatcher (1848)
    • Conyngham (1847)
    • Bay Middleton (1836)
    • Ibrahim (1835)
    • Glencoe (1834)
    • Clearwell (1833)
    • Riddlesworth (1831)
    • Enamel (1825)
    • Cadland (1828)
  • Most wins by a trainer - John Scott holds this record at 7 wins after he trained the following winning horses:

    • The Marquis (1862)
    • The Wizard (1860)
    • Fazzoletto (1856)
    • West Australian (1853)
    • Nunnykirk (1849)
    • Cotherstone (1843)
    • Meteor (1842)
  • Most wins by an owner - Sue Magnier is the winningest owner at the 2,000 Guineas with six wins. He owned the following winning horses

    • Entrepreneur (1997)
    • King of Kings (1998)
    • Rock of Gibraltar (2002)
    • Footstepsinthesand (2005)
    • George Washington (2006)
    • Henrythenavigator (2008)
  • Fastest winning time - Mister Baileys holds the record for the fastest winning time at the 2,000 Guineas Stakes. He set the record in 1994 at 1m 35.08s

  • Widest winning margin (since 1900) - udor Minstrel set the record for the widest winning margin at 8 lengths in 1947

  • Longest odds winner - at odds of 66/1, ockavon set the record for the longest odds winner in 1961

  • Shortest odds winner - in 1896, at odds of 12/100, St Frusquin holds the record for the shortest odds winner

  • Most runners - the 2,000 Guineas Stakes had the most runners in 1930 at 28

  • Fewest runners - twice the 2,000 Guineas Stakes had the fewest at 2. These were during the races in 1829 and 1830

SportsBet ®
your source for betting information